The Tutaev district population as of 01/01/2006 was 58,500.
The district area is 1,451.4 sq. km.
The administrative centre is the city of Tutaev with population of 42,000.
The distance from the district center to Yaroslavl is 38 km.
There are 272 rural settlements on the district territory.
People started to settle in the uyezd (district) in III-IV centuries. In the IX century the tribe called "merya" or "meryane" inhabited the future Yaroslavl area. During the Mongol-Tatar invasion people fled from Yaroslavl and settled on the right bank in the Black Forest. The remnants of this forest still survived in 3 km from the city near the village of Antifyevo.
The first settlements appeared just after the capture of Yaroslavl by the Mongols in 1238: "…there was a huge slashing fight and the Yaroslavl citizens have fled fearing khan's anger and wandered until here and have put up their first houses here". Thus began Borisoglebskaya sloboda (quarter).
Uglich prince Roman Vladimirovitch is believed to be the founder of the city of Romanov in 1238, naming it after himself.
Detailed information about the uyezd has been kept since the XIX century. Until that time the full picture can not be produced. Remaining fragments of the chronicles suggest that the uyezd population worked in market gardening and vegetable growing. The Romanovs onion, first grown by local dwellers, has become very popular. This variety of onion was well-known all around Russia because of its high productivity and excellent taste.
The Romanov sheep breed was also first grown in the Romanov Uyezd. Its skin was believed to be among the best in the world. Goods made from Romanov sheepskin received high awards in 1851 International Exhibition in London and in 1867 International Exhibition in Paris.
At the end of the XIX century there were 93 churches, 23 schools, 50 brick houses and 10,500 wooden houses in the uyezd.
The uyezd covered the area of 2,638 square versts. There were 70 large villages in the uyezd. In total, there were 455 settlements, with population of 68,500.
In 1879 in 7 km from Romanov-Borisoglebsk industrialist V. Rogozin started The Konstantinovsky Russian mineral oils plant. In the 1880ies the porcelain factory, famous for its Kuznetsov porcelain, was inaugurated in the village of Pesotchnoe. The Tikhomirov fur-sheepskin factory gave its first output in the1890ies.
The city of Romanov-Borisoglebsk was renamed Tutaev in 1918, the uyezd was renamed Tutaevsky.
The Tutaev municipal district is an industrial district.
The district occupies the third place in the Oblast after Rybinsk and Yaroslavl as to the volume of produced goods.
Manufactured goods account for the major part of all production - 56.7%. 7.9% of production is provided by electricity, natural gas and water producing and distributing plants.
District factories produce car engines, steel shapes, textile and food items - bakery and sausages. There is also an oil refinery.
The major plants are: "Slavneft-Yaroslavl Mendeleev Oil Refinery" JSC ("Rusoil"), "Tutaev Engine Plant" JSC, "Tutaev flax-scutching mill "Tulma" Ltd., "Tantal" Ltd.
The district occupies the third place in the Oblast after Rybinsk and Yaroslavl as well as to the volume of agricultural production.
Agricultural, hunting and forestry production account for 9.2% of all district production.
The center of the district - the city of Tutaev - is situated on both banks of the Volga river. Major federal highway runs along the right bank. The existing transport system connects the city by any type of vehicle transportation with Moscow, Saint-Petersburg, Cherepovetz, Ivanovo, Uglich and other Russian cities. The city is accessible by car, by boat and by train. The Volga cargo-and-passenger crossing functions in the city during navigation.
Statistics and research prove that Tutaev, among cities with the same economic indexes, stands out as a major consumer center. Retail turnover of the district amounts to 368 million rubles a month. In the spring-summer period this indicator increases 1.5-2 times due to the influx of vacationers coming from the Moscow region. Many of them possess real estate in the ecologically pure sites on the banks of the Volga.
Into the manufacturing sector:
Building of a recycling plant, producing walkway slabs, tiling etc. from plastic waste. The Tutaev Municipal District Administration can provide information about the technology and equipment.
Building of the 2-storey shopping and entertainment center with the surface of 5,000 sq. meters on the grounds opposite the bus station.
Building the cultural and entertainment center on the Volga embankment.
Building a private kindergarten.
Building the children cafe in the park of the left bank district of Tutaev.
A stadium with stands with the capacity of 4,000. The building area is situated in the city of Tutaev.
The shopping, cultural and entertainment center with aquatic park, planned for construction in the central public and market district of Tutaev. Approximate surface is 4 hectares, with 1 hectare planned directly for building. The area should include a shopping mall, a bowling alley, a library with a reading hall, an aquatic park, a cafe, a gaming parlor and a casino.
A downhill ski resort. The building of the sports and fitness lodge is being planned in the district, that should include a hotel, a downhill ski trail, a car parking. The approximate area is 1.5 hectares. The building lot is situated in the flood-lands of the Petchegda river.
Municipally run company "Tutaevtorgsnab" offers commercial premises for the companies or will provide the realization of produced goods through its own retail trading network. It possesses more than 2,000 sq. meters of commercial space in the city center, and its status as a municipal company gives supplementary guarantees from the district administration pertaining to the stability of the collaboration and lowers commercial risks for partners.
Taking part as a main sponsor in the city-wide activities in order to promote a brand and/or a company.
Putting billboards on the city streets, using for maximum effect Tutaev's location on the main Oblast's highway Yaroslavl-Tutaev-Rybinsk and on the federal highway Moscow-Yaroslavl-Arkhangelsk.
Acquisition of land for cottage building on the Volga bank, taking advantage of the best scenery in the Oblast.
Tutaev - Romanov-Borisoglebsk is an ancient city that is eternally young. The unique city look is inseparable from the vastness of the Volga. The great Russian river divides Tutaev into two parts. Beautiful silhouettes of churches and peaked bell towers stand out against the background of gardens and parks. The city is often called a museum under open skies.
There are more than 500 architectural monuments in the city. Resurrection Cathedral is a true masterpiece and a gem in the crown of the glorious creations of Russian architects.
The ancient Russian city stands on the steep Volga banks for more than seven centuries. Its architecture reflects styles of different ages. Two mansions stand out by their unique appearance among the architectural monuments of the XVIII century: the Illarionov mansion and the Shumilov mansion.
Of great interest are the complex of buildings on the Market square, the Palnikov and Illichev hotels, the Dulev hotel, the Nikolaev mansion, the house nicknamed "Teremok" ("Small Chambers") because of the miniature towers adorning its fa?ade, and, of course, the Volga embankment with its beautiful mansions on the Borisogleb side.
Among the religious architectural monuments one should note the Resurrection cathedral (1652-1678), Cathedral of Erection of the Cross (1658), Transfiguration Church of Kazan (1758), Our Savior of Archangelsk Church (1746-1751), Intercession Church (1674), Church of the Trinity on the Graveyard (1783), Saint Tikhon Church (1911), Annunciation Church (1660), Ascension Leontievskaya Church (1795).
There are 2 museum branches in the city and district. The Tutaev branch of the Yaroslavl Arts Gallery "House on Novinskaya" contains a unique display "Museum of the provincial bourgeoisie way of life at the end of the XIX century - beginning of the XX century" and the "Provincial bank of the end of the XIX century", which is the only exhibition of this kind in Russia. The Yaroslavl Historical and Architectural Museum Preserve also has a branch in Tutaev. There is also "Space" museum and the museum of Pavel Nikolaevitch Butchin (branch of the Tutaev museum on a voluntary basis).
Local crafts are being developed in the district: Romanovsky lace, wood-painting, cooperage art, wicker-work from vine and osier, wood carving, collage, embroidery.
Tourists are welcomed in excellent recreation centers and campgrounds in the picturesque surroundings on the Volga banks:
— "Krasny Oktyabr" recreation center- the resort of the "Tutaev engine plant" JSC. Its capacity in summer - 200, in winter - 90.
— "Lesnoe" Recreation center- the resort of the JSC "Avtodiesel". Capacity during the summer - 750, during the winter - 500.
— "Rus" sanatorium. Capacity in summer - 100, in winter - 100.
— "Berezovaya Roshcha" recreation center- the resort of the "Lakokraska" JSC. Capacity in summer - 100, in winter - 100.
Vacationers can profit from the well-equipped beaches, rental booths, cinemas, video rooms, shooting-range, libraries, billiard tables, volleyball fields, sauna, fitness simulator room, table tennis, telephone station, newspaper stands, medical centers, stores. There is a possibility of an active, healthy rest while gathering mushrooms and berries in the summer, while fishing all year round.
Administration of the Tutaev municipal district
152300, Yaroslavl Region, the city of Tutaev, Kirova St., 35
phone +7 (48533) 2-12-78,
fax +7 (48533) 2-36-63
The Head of administration of municipal district
Yan Yurievich Andreev